top of page
Search
  • Countervoices - CModS PG Forum

Photography

Below each submission you can find a short explanation of the work written by the creator.



CHENG LI

History, University of York


Learn from a guinea pig, highly sensitive always stay alert



This guinea pig, called Teddy, is very cute and has an innocent face all the time. Because of the Lockdown and the fast spread of the virus, I often feel stressed and stay at home with a gloomy face. However, Teddy's face never changes, always this innocent face looking at anyone near to him. Also, he is highly sensitive, always stays alert, and any noise nearby would alert him to back to his little wooden house, and stay at his home quietly. I wish I can have the same detective ability to sense any danger and stay away from them. More importantly, replace the gloomy face with a calm and innocent one.



 

ROSEMARY ALEXANDER-JONES

TFTI, University of York




Covid has forced me back into my parent’s house to work on my PhD in my father’s study. As he is a scientist, I am surrounded by books outside my field, and the heirloom clocks he is restoring hang over me from both sides of the family. They all tell a different time, and none of them are wound. This stillness of time is an echo of the paused world outside. The items on the bookshelf are a reminder of my father’s varied interests and my family’s eccentric nature… Though I am confined to the house and garden this space provides focus and a chance to make progress in a paused world.



 

THOMAS SHILLAM

History, University of York




I was conducting research in India at the time that COVID-19 began spreading around the world. I took this photo of two pigeons I spotted from afar in Delhi in March. They turned out to be yellow-footed green pigeons, a species which forms part of the Columbidae family that includes birds like the collared dove and wood pigeon seen in the UK. During the worst phase of the lockdown I compiled an album of my very amateur bird photographs taken in India which also included the treepie and white-throated kingfisher. I would be happy to share more of these with anyone else who finds similar solace in birdwatching from such stressful times!

254 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page